Stamping, Uncategorized

Mermaid under the Sea

Hello everybody!

It’s Donna here, back with a card that I had so much fun making! This underwater mermaid scene uses ice creams as the jelly fish! In fact, other than the mermaid and the little stars and shells, none of this card was made with sea stamps and dies.

The background is first ‘smooshed’ with distress inks, and then stencilled with the circles that  are the bubbles. The mermaid comes from the ‘Seaside’ stamp has been stamped with Copic friendly ink and coloured. For her tail, I used small dots to show the scales. The seaweed comes from the ‘Floral’ stamp set, also from Sonshine and the jelly fish bodies are from the ‘Sweet Treat’ set. I used the ice cream scoops up side down. The Jellyfish tentacles are actually cut from a die of a bird on a branch. I surgically removed the bird, and just used the branch, cut in some home watercoloured paper, and vellum.

What I love about the three sets I’ve used today is their versatility. There are so many different images that can be used so many different ways, for bible journalling or card making. For example, the mermaid comes from the same set that I used to make this card. Such different looks! I’ve still got so many ideas I want to share with you all!

If you would like to see more cards, feel free to visit my Instagram account here.

God bless, hope your week goes swimmingly.

Donna

Leave a comment