Imperfection

Hi friends! 

Today I wanted to talk for a brief moment about imperfection. This incredible Bible journaling community that we’re a part of is filled with immensely talented people and as a result, we often see Bible pages on social media that are absolutely stunning. 

So often I see comments from people all over Instagram that are along the lines of, “Wow, that is so beautiful. I could never do that.” Why is it that it’s so easy to get discouraged about ourselves when we see something beautiful?

My hope and intention with the pages that I create are that:

 1. It’s a reflection of what the Lord is teaching me through Scripture, and that my response is honoring to Him. 

2. That others could be inspired and encouraged by these pages. 

When I first began Bible journaling a little over two years ago, I became discouraged very quickly because my pages weren’t turning out like I wanted them to. I kept seeing beautiful artwork and found myself wanting to quit what I was doing because it wasn’t up to par with what I was seeing on social media. I needed a heart check. Ultimately, my motive behind what I was doing was about seeking perfection rather than glorifying the God that gave me the urge to create in the first place. 

The reason that I’m writing about seeking perfection is this:


As I was working on this page yesterday, I realized that the ink I had used to stamp my letters and stars was bleeding badly after I added watercolor to the page. Immediately I became distracted from my purpose for doing this and instead got upset that it didn’t turn out as I had hoped. 

Friends, it’s not about perfection. I’m so grateful that I can worship the God of the Universe with my artwork, and He absolutely does not care if my ink bleeds, because all that matters is that I’m spending time with Him. I’ve blogged about this before but I’m definitely not perfect and need constant reminding of that! 


Materials Used

“Emmanuel” Stamp Set

“Offset Alphas” Stamp Set

Lawn Fawn Ink

Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolor

One Comment

Leave a Reply

